What are the 29 states and capitals?

What are the 29 states and capitals?

There are 29 states and seven Union territories in the country. Let's take a look at the states and their capitals.

  • Andhra Pradesh - Amravati. Amravati city plan. ( ...
  • Arunachal Pradesh - Itanagar. ...
  • Assam - Dispur. ...
  • Bihar - Patna. ...
  • Chhattisgarh - Atal Nagar (Naya Raipur) ...
  • Goa - Panaji. ...
  • Gujarat - Gandhinagar. ...
  • Haryana - Chandigarh.

What are the 28 states and capitals?

India now has 28 states and 8 UTs
1Andhra PradeshAmaravati
2Arunachal PradeshItanagar

How many states and capitals are there in India in 2020?

At Present India now has 28 States and 8 Union Territories....Indian States: Union Territories and Capitals.
Union Territories NamesCapitalFounded on
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman26 Jan. 2020

Which is youngest state in India?


What is the 29th state?

State of Iowa

What is difference between state and union territory?

States have their own elected government that are vested with the powers to frame the laws. An union territory is a small administrative unit that is ruled by the union. The union territories are administered and controlled directly by the Central Government of India. ... Union territories do not have autonomous powers.

What is the role of union territory?

The Parliament of India can pass a law to amend the constitution and provide a Legislature with elected Members and a Chief Minister for a union territory, as it has done for Delhi and Puducherry. In general, the President of India appoints an administrator or lieutenant governor for each UT.

Who is the head of union territory?

Lt. Governors & Administrators
Union TerritoryLt. Governor & Administrator
Chandigarh (UT)Shri.V.P. Singh Badnore (Administrator)
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (UT)Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)
Delhi (NCT)Shri Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)
Jammu and Kashmir (UT)Shri Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor)

Why Pondicherry is called Union territory?

The territories of French India were completely transferred to the Republic of India de facto on 1 November 1954, and de jure on 16 August 1962, when French India ceased to exist, becoming the present Indian constituent union territory of Pondicherry, combining four coastal enclaves (with the exception of Chandannagar, ...

What is Pondicherry known for?

Aurobindo Ashram

Is Pondicherry a union territory or state?

Puducherry, also called Pondicherry, city, capital of Puducherry union territory, southeastern India. The city constitutes an enclave surrounded by Tamil Nadu state, on the Coromandel Coast of the Bay of Bengal, 105 miles (170 km) south of Chennai (Madras).

How many states are there in the South?

The region spreads over an area of 635,780 Sq Km and comprises the states of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, and Puducherry. It also covers the verdant Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Karnataka is a coastal belt rich with Hindu traditions and natural beauty.

What are the true Southern states?

As defined by the U.S. federal government, it includes Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Why do they say dirty south?

The term “dirty southis a term of endearment for the area of the United States that includes much of the former Confederacy. Some people feel that “dirty southis rap music that originated from the south. ... The name dirty south is so popular that it inspired Dragan Roganovic to take it as his stage name.

Is Virginia considered a southern state?

As defined by the United States Census Bureau, the Southern region of the United States includes sixteen states. ... The South Atlantic States: Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia. The East South Central States: Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi and Tennessee.

Where is the Mason Dixon line?

Mason-Dixon Line, also called Mason and Dixon Line, originally the boundary between Maryland and Pennsylvania in the United States. In the pre-Civil War period it was regarded, together with the Ohio River, as the dividing line between slave states south of it and free-soil states north of it.

Is Virginia a good state to live in?

Virginia is the perfect place to land when you're ready to put your feet up. Forbes named Blacksburg one of its top places to retire in the nation thanks to a cost of living 7% below the national average, low crime and good housing. ... Forbes has ranked Virginia as #1 for best places for business.