Who is the governor of Assam in 2020?

Who is the governor of Assam in 2020?

Jagdish Mukhi is the Governor of Assam and a member of BJP and RSS. Past positions have included Lieutenant Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Minister of Finance, Planning, Excise and Taxation and Higher Education in the Delhi government.

What is the name of the governor of your state?

List of Governors of States as on /div>
Sl.No.Name of the StateName of the Governor
09.Himachal PradeshSmt. Urmila Singh
10.Jammu & KashmirShri Narinder Nath Vohra
11.JharkhandDr. Syed Ahmed
12.KarnatakaShri K. Rosaiah

Who is current governor of MP?

List of governors of Madhya Pradesh
Governor of Madhya Pradesh
Incumbent Anandiben Patel (Additional Charge) since 1 July 2020
StyleHer Excellency
StatusHead of State
ResidenceRaj Bhavan, Bhopal (primary) Raj Bhavan, Pachmarhi (summer)

Who is chief minister of our state?

Chief Ministers
StateChief Minister
JharkhandShri Hemant Soren
KarnatakaSri B. S. Yediyurappa
KeralaShri Pinarayi Vijayan
Madhya PradeshShri Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Who is the governor of all 29 states?

KarnatakaShri Vajubhai Vala
KeralaShri Arif Mohammed Khan
Madhya PradeshSmt. Anandiben Patel
MaharashtraShri Bhagat Singh Koshyari

Which is our state name?

State name (# on map)Name in state's official language
Himachal Pradesh (9)हिमाचल प्रदेश (Hindi)
Jharkhand (10)झारखण्ड (‌Hindi)
Karnataka (11)ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ (Kannada)
Kerala (12)കേരളം (Malayalam)

What is the work of state governor?

The primary function of the governor is to preserve, protect and defend the constitution and the law as incorporated in his/her oath of office under Article 159 of the Indian constitution in the administration of the State affairs.

Who is a governor of India in 2020?

State-wise Present Governors in India 2020
StatesGovernors of India
JharkhandDraupadi Murmu
KarnatakaVajubhai Rudabhai Vala
KeralaArif Mohammad Khan
Madhya PradeshLal Ji Tandon

Who is Goa Governor?

Bhagat Singh KoshyariSince 2020

Who is called Governor?

In some systems of government, a governor is a person who is in charge of the political administration of a region or state. The governor addressed the New Jersey Assembly. A governor is a member of a committee which controls an organization such as a school or a hospital.

Who is the first governor of India?

Chakravarti Rajagopalachari

What is difference between Governor and Governor General?

Governor General was the head of all governors of states under East India Company. After the power shifted in the hands of British Crown, Viceroy was appointed, who was the head of colonial India and governed the territory on behalf of British Crown.

Who is the first female governor of India?

Sarojini Naidu was the first female to become the governor of an Indian state. She governed Uttar Pradesh from 15 August 1947 to 2 March 1949. Her daughter, Padmaja Naidu, is the longest-serving female governor with 11-year tenure in West Bengal.

What is a female governor called?

The obsolete term for a female governor is the female form governess, however the modern term for female officials is the gender-neutral form governor (without the gender-specific suffix -ess) to avoid confusion with other meanings of governess.

Who are the current female governors?

State governors
Name (lifespan)StateTerm end
Kay Ivey (born 1944)AlabamaIncumbent
Kim Reynolds (born 1959)IowaIncumbent
Gretchen Whitmer (born 1971)MichiganIncumbent
Michelle Lujan Grisham (born 1959)New MexicoIncumbent

How many lieutenant governors are there in India?

In the Republic of India, a lieutenant governor is the constitutional head of five of the eight union territories. The lieutenant governor is appointed by the President of India for a term of five years, and holds office at the President's pleasure.

Who is a lieutenant governor in India?

Lt. Governors & Administrators
Union TerritoryLt. Governor & Administrator
Delhi (NCT)Shri Anil Baijal (Lieutenant Governor)
Jammu and Kashmir (UT)Shri Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor)
Lakshadweep (UT)Shri Praful Patel (Administrator)
Puducherry (UT)Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan (Addl. Charge) (Lieutenant Governor)

Who is lieutenant governor of Jammu and Kashmir?

About Honourable Lieutenant Governor:-Sh. Manoj Sinha is the second Lieutenant Governor of the Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir. A seasoned Politician from Uttar Pradesh, he is a trained Civil Engineer with Degrees of B. Tech and M-Tech from IIT(BHU) Varanasi.

Who appoints Governor of J&K?

The President Ram Nath Kovind has appointed Manoj Sinha as the Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir. The President accepted the resignation of Girish Chandra Murmu as Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir.

Who is first lieutenant governor of Jammu and Kashmir?

Lieutenant Governors of Jammu and Kashmir
#NameAppointed by
1Girish Chandra MurmuRam Nath Kovind
2Manoj Sinha

Who is the first governor of Jammu and Kashmir?

On 30 March 1965, Karan Singh became the first Governor of Jammu and Kashmir. The office of governor was abolished after an act was passed in August 2019 in the Parliament of India, reorganising the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories; Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh on 31 October 2019.

Is Article 370 abrogation legal?

The constitutional scholar A. G. Noorani said that the Indian government's decision to abrogate Article 370 through controversial means was "utterly and palpably unconstitutional", even fraudulent. It is headed for a "showdown in India's Supreme Court".

Who rules Kashmir?

The region is divided amongst three countries in a territorial dispute: Pakistan controls the northwest portion (Northern Areas and Kashmir), India controls the central and southern portion (Jammu and Kashmir) and Ladakh, and the People's Republic of China controls the northeastern portion (Aksai Chin and the Trans- ...

Is Jammu Kashmir a state or UT?

The act re-constituted the former state of Jammu and Kashmir into two union territories, 'Jammu and Kashmir' and 'Ladakh', with effect from 31 October 2019.

Is Ladakh a state?

Ladakh /lə-ˈdɑːk/ is a region administered by India as a union territory. ... Until 2019, Ladakh was a region of the Indian-administered state of Jammu and Kashmir. In August 2019, the Parliament of India passed an act by which Ladakh became a union territory on 31 October 2019.